The Jane Austen Project

The Jane Austen Project is a perfect book for this time of year. At least for me it is. My brain is so filled with lists and half-baked hopes for a fun and festive holiday season that facts and figures can’t fit in. So I generally set aside my heavier reading and pick up lighter fare. On a side note, I am still attempting to get through The Calculus Diaries. It is slow going and I tend to read it when I feel anxious that I’ll have trouble getting to sleep. My confusion regarding the subject matter calms my anxiety and I am usually asleep within 10 minutes.

This is no attack on the book, it is a very smart discussion of calculus. I am merely a dunderhead and can’t understand what is being said. Calculus is something about measuring related change? There’s something about the area under a curve? And something else regarding compound interest…and zombies?

I am making myself sleepy just thinking about what I don’t understand.

Back to The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn. Here’s the blurb from the publisher’s webpage:

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world’s most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.

If you are a fan of detailed science fiction, this book might irritate you. But if you like books about plucky heroines getting shit done with a handsome sidekick named Liam?

Well, then this is the book for you. Also, you should be reading The Invisible Library Series by Genevieve Cogman but we will get to that.

What else to say? You know, I’m not sure if we ever made this clear but these are not now nor were they ever meant to be book reviews because:

    1. They would be super crappy reviews.
    1. I rarely say what the book is about.
    1. These posts are meant to be reactions rather than reviews. There are people who have spent their entire careers reading and then writing brilliant book reviews.
    1. I am not one of those people.
  1. Obviously.

Want something light but well written and interesting? Then read The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *